Skip To Main Content
Beaverton School District
Beaverton School District

Beaverton Schools

Erin's Law

Erin's Law

What Is Erin’s Law?

In 2015, the Oregon legislature passed SB 856, also known as Erin’s Law. Erin’s Law requires the development and adoption of child sexual abuse prevention programs for students in kindergarten through 12th grade ​in all Oregon public schools.

SB 856 mandates that all Oregon Public Schools provide:

  • A minimum of 4 instructional sessions (equal to or greater than a standard class period) of sex abuse prevention instruction per year for grades kindergarten through 12.

  • Sexual abuse instruction that is integrated and part of required district comprehensive sexuality education plan and is aligned with state standards.

  • Instruction that is age appropriate, medically accurate, and is not shame or fear based.

  • Instruction that is culturally inclusive and is responsive to diverse students including race, ethnicity, gender identity and sexual orientation.

  • A parental involvement component to inform parents about child sexual abuse topics.

  • A professional training component for administrators, teachers and other school personnel.